My Plastic Bag Problem

Give the gift of a Plastic-Free World This Holiday and Join the Plastic Bag Ban Movement!

 

I need to let a very un-green skeleton out of the closet. I am doing a bad job of avoiding plastic bags and I need your help to get better. There are a few issues that play into the problem, but I’m making it my goal to Join the Plastic Bag Ban Movement in 2013 and I want you to hold me accountable!

First of all, I need help picking out a set of reusable bags. When I shop at Target or the Grocery store, I always come home with 5 or 6 bags of stuff so I need a vast selection. I want them to be durable, yet affordable. Most of all, they need to be cute so that I will enjoy taking them everywhere. Can they fold up and fit in my diaper bag? That would be a huge plus!

Next, let’s all ask the stores to carry a quality reusable bag! I get it. The bags that they offer now are made from other plastic bags, so it’s a good way to repurpose the waste. But, I want something that I can fold into a pocket that will survive a laundry cycle. I loved the “I Am Not a Plastic Bag” bag that sold out in minutes in the UK years ago. Can more stores make something like that?

Anya Hindmarch Handbag

Anya Hindmarch Handbag

Finally, the hardest part is that we need to challenge the stores in our community to stop offering plastic bags. If I know they’re not available anywhere, I’ll work a lot harder to remember my bags. Does your township have a plastic bag ban? I’d love to hear what’s working and what’s not.

10 comments on “My Plastic Bag Problem

  1. Karin says:

    Have you heard about baggu? They’re cute and fold up super small:
    https://baggu.com/shop/babybaggu

    We just use the Wegmans reusable bags — they are durable and hold much more than I would have expected.

  2. Thanks for taking part in the blog carnival. We especially love the bio bags made from cotton, jute or bamboo.
    Shane
    FDP, CMO

  3. Ellen O says:

    I keep a bag of bags in the trunk, so I don’t have to remember them. When I unpack them at home, I put the bag of bags by the door so it goes out again on my next trip. I have lots of promo bags, and though they’re not cute, they are certainly as attractive as plastic.

  4. Be sure to sign the petition on Change.org to help ban plastic bags in Philly. http://www.change.org/petitions/reduce-plastic-bags-in-philadelphia

  5. […] started toting my own shopping bags to the grocery store in an effort to cut down on plastic bag use a few months ago and I am happy to report that it has been going really well. I plan to add a few […]

  6. website says:

    Hi there colleagues, how is the whole thing, and what you wish for to say concerning this
    post, in my view its truly remarkable in favor of me.

  7. What’s up mates, how is all, and what you wish for to say about this post, in my view its genuinely remarkable in favor of me.

  8. click here says:

    I have learn several good stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how much attempt you place to create one of these fantastic informative website.

  9. […] Jeannette Bezinque with eco incognito has a plastic bag problem!  Uh Oh!  Can you relate? […]

Leave a comment