Baby Yoga Poem

By Jeannette Bezinque   1.4.13

Baby yoga offers a loving way to connect with your child. I read Baby Om shortly after the birth of my first daughter and instantly fell in love with the practice. It was so fulfilling share my passion for yoga with my own child. Now as she is growing and stretching it is inspiring to watch her discover yoga poses on her own. I am gaining a better understanding of yoga through the observation of a child than I ever could find on a mat. In my body, I endeavor past aches and linger in stretches in an effort to work out a lifetime of struggle with physical challenges. I can only hope that an early adoption of yoga poses into our daily routine can provide the girls with a lifetime of mental and physical balance.

Om Baby, Roam Baby is a poem about exploration. Let the poem guide you and baby through a typical asana. The perfect way to offer gentle pressure to your baby for the arm and leg massage is to imagine you are testing a peach for ripeness. Audrey and I like to do yoga in the early afternoon while Hannah naps. Now that she is nearing 5 months I find that she is more limber after I demonstrate and repeat the arm movements. Our little sessions last five to fifteen minutes, but I am hopeful that the memories of her smiles and coos last a lifetime.

Read Om Baby, Roam Baby after the jump.

Om Baby, Roam Baby Om Baby Roam Baby
By: Eco Incognito

Om Baby
Roam Baby
Would you like to wiggle?
Let’s do yoga moves
To stretch, bend, and giggle.

Om Baby
Roam Baby
There’s so much we can do.
I’ll gently rub your shoulders,
arms, hands, and fingers, too.

Om Baby
Roam Baby
May I hold your hands?
Arms open and close
Then circle as a fan.

Om Baby
Roam Baby
There’s so much you can feel.
I’ll squeeze your chubby thighs,
And then each knee and heel.

Om Baby
Roam Baby
There’s so much that you know.
Can you feel me tickle
Every teenie tiny toe?

Om Baby
Roam Baby
Roll over to your belly.
Kick your legs. I’ll rub your back.
I hope the floor’s not smelly.

Om Baby
Roam Baby
It’s almost time to sleep.
I’ll lean in for a kiss
On your pink, rosy cheek.

¤

COPYRIGHT © 2013 Jeannette Bezinque

3 comments on “Baby Yoga Poem

  1. diaperedknights says:

    Cute Jeannette! Maybe a baby’s book of yoga or a CD of yoga songs is in your future!

  2. […] to puff her cheeks and PFFT. I helped Audrey stretch and bend her limbs and guided her through some baby asanas. After both the girls get their individual time, we just do other things around the house or […]

Leave a Reply

