South Moon Under at the Promenade – Press Party

The Promenade at Sagemore in New Jersey has a new shop for women that love the beach lifestyle called South Moon Under. This store has been on my radar for many years ever since visiting it during summer vacations to Ocean City Maryland with my friends. Needless to say, when the press invite hit my inbox, I jumped at the opportunity to get a sneak peek at the new store!

South Moon Under carries clothes, dresses, accessories, shoes, and loads of swimwear for women ages 15 to 55! That’s quite a range, but I learned that the most frequent shopping pair at the store is the Mom and Daughter Duo. Don’t be surprised if the adorable made-in-USA tank you covet is right next to a dress that your Mom would love. I was thrilled to see a wide variety of trendy options paired with some classic staples. They also have a fantastic jean selection with brands like Hudson, Joe’s Jeans, and Citizens of Humanity. I think it’s worth it to splurge on a perfect pair of jeans. With proper jeans care, a great fitting pair can last for years! Plus, what better incentive to shed the pregnancy weight than the goal of fitting back into the perfect jeans?

It would be easy to pair the edgy styles with iconic pieces from thrift shopping, Urban Outfitters, or Nordstrom. The shop design is pretty informal, which I found out is because the CEO gives a nod to sustainable business practices whenever possible. He passed on adding a floor to the concrete base, used repurposed wood, and practices a handful of money-saving routines at the corporate distribution center. They also use solar power there!

I would describe the style as bohemian surfer. There were so many outfits that I would love to wear while gardening this summer, too. At the request of Mr. Eco Incognito, I searched for shorts and a tank top. He also liked the color of my new nail polish from Butter London. I’m excited to try this “3-free” polish. It doesn’t have the three biggest chemical culprits of the nail industry (Formaldehyde, Toluene, DBP). This will give me a head start on my goal for next year- to green my beauty routine.

Gardening Outfit

We are heading to the water as often as possible, so I am eager to pick out a great bathing suit. Let me tell you about the selection of swimwear because there was an entire wall of fabulous one-piece options. I’m still not sure my tiger stripes are ready to see the light of the day in a bikini, so I may play it safe in a tankini. I’m also considering the strapless monokini, but I have to go back and take my husband with his discerning eye before I commit to that style. I must be a glutton for punishment. The only way to make bathing suit shopping more awful is to add an eye-witness, right?

Swim Outfit

Either way, I definitely plan to head back to the Promenade. It’s a hike to get there from my town, but there are so many great shops like Anthropologie and Lulu Lemon that I need more time to check it out. As convenient as it is to shop online, I still get a thrill out of taking a day trip to a shopping destination and enjoying the scenery and inspiration.

4 comments on “South Moon Under at the Promenade – Press Party

  1. That’s some really cute stuff! My daughter would love those jean shorts. It’s a bit too much of a drive for us, but I see they have an online site — I’m so there!

  2. HA!!! I bought the TOMS Biminis in green/blue yesterday! You have good taste…

  3. Tina says:

    Love the swimwear – great colors!

Leave a Reply

