Breastfeeding Is Life

This Mother’s Day, I will be performing in the production Listen to Your Mother at the World Cafe Live in Delaware. I’m sharing an original work that highlights my humorous, semi-non-fictional experience of breastfeeding. At just $18 per ticket, it costs roughly the same as a store-bought bouquet of flowers and is a much more unique gift option for your Mom. I hope you’ll come see the show.

I wrote about breastfeeding because it’s something that I do every day, many times a day. There are times when it’s hard and sad and painful, but there are also times when it’s downright funny. It was important for me to get the word out that Breastfeeding is real. It’s not something that happens in a big, comfy chair every day. In my house, breastfeeding happens while a toddler smears poop on her potty chair. Sometimes it happens and I’ll forget to button up my nursing tank back over my exposed nipple. Most nights I fall asleep while nursing my baby because it literally drains me. But, at the end of it all, this has been one of the most amazing things I’ve ever done. I’m also not stopping any time soon, so I thought I would put my happy, breastfeeding experience into the spotlight before it becomes a NATIONAL FIASCO when I feed a baby who is old enough to ask for milk. At least, I won’t have any spilled sippy cups.

Photo Credit: Autumn Rishty Photography

Photo Credit: Autumn Rishty Photography

 

7 comments on “Breastfeeding Is Life

  1. How exciting that you will be in the Listen to your Mother show! I wish you all the very best with your performance. I am glad you have been able to have this opportunity to provide your sweet baby with nourishment. What a blessing. Have a happy weekend. Love, Becky

  2. I look forward to seeing you there!

  3. How exciting to have your writing be part of a show. I hope you have a wonderful experience.

  4. Gina B says:

    Awesome! I would love to hear that show, the stories sound amazing. Congratulations on being booked for it!

  5. Carrie says:

    What a beautiful photo! I was nursing my son this morning and he looked so peaceful I just wished someone was there and could take a picture of it. I don’t want to forget those moments and I know I will miss it when I’m finished nursing.

  6. onepunkymama says:

    Yaaay! Just the other day in church the mother in front of me was nursing her son and it just tugged at my heartstrings remembering those days. Have a great time at the show!

  7. […] show on Mother’s Day are incredible, raw, and impactful. I’m not sure exactly how my playful tale of breastfeeding found its way into the mix, but I am going to relish every minute I get to spend with these vibrant […]

Leave a Reply

