Defining My Mom Style

The other day, I gave you a peek into my closet and shared some of the ways that I have dealt with the craziness of changing sizes and styles over the past two years. It’s not easy to figure out what to wear these days for a lot of reasons. First and foremost, I’m nursing and I haven’t worn a bra comfortably in almost two years. I’m also still hovering between sizes. I have come to terms with the fact that I am going to live in stretchy pants for a few years. However, if I have to do that, I’m going to be in the best, butt-amplifying, stretchy pants I can find.

I am going to admit a very sad fact about myself. I am a former fashion major with no clue what to wear. I’m not even a fashion school dropout. I have a degree in the subject, but I still walk through the mall these days and I. am. lost. I have no idea why mannequins are wearing socks with stilettos or how to find coordinating outfit pieces anymore. I couldn’t tell you if the stuff that hangs on the same rack makes an outfit anymore. A few months ago, I made the decision to let my husband decide what I will wear. Granted, I have to dial back a few of his requests so that I have something appropriate to wear to MOMS club meetings. But, for the most part, he can pick out an outfit that makes me look like a woman again. So, I took it to heart when he started eagerly leafing through the Athleta catalogs and decided to dive into a new style.

The crazy thing is, that I’ve only added 6 items to my wardrobe. (OK, fine it was 7!) I feel rejuvenated though. My wardrobe has a theme and it makes sense with what I do each day. I care for my children. We run around, bend over, pick up toys, rummage through grass, cook, nap, clean (not that much), socialize, and blog. I want to look my best each day even if I haven’t showered in three days, so I’ve decided to go with quality over quantity. This is a new concept for me, and it’s another aspect of simplifying my life that I’m looking forward to testing.

Will my clothes make it back into the closet after I wash them if I only have a handful of items to hang? Am I going to feel relieved that I don’t have to pick through as many clothes or limited that I don’t have as big of a selection? Is ‘Baby #3’ an imminent side effect of wearing a halter dress on date night? Only time will tell.

Without further ado, I present my first attempt at using Polyvore to share my 100% Mr. Eco Incognito Approved Style.

Athleta Set

Top
athleta.gap.com

T shirt
athleta.gap.com

Pants
athleta.gap.com

For real fashion advice, check out my friend Jo-Lynne’s #fashionfriday carnival: http://www.musingsofahousewife.com/2013/03/trend-watch-stacked-wrist-fashionfriday.html

7 comments on “Defining My Mom Style

  1. Good for you! That’s awesome and I’m glad your husband is helping you out too. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve asked my husband to help me pick something and I always get the “whatever makes you happy” response. Sometimes I want to slap him! 🙂 Just kidding. I just had baby #2 and feel like I’ve been in a fashion slump since he was born. Nothing fits right and I don’t feel like myself yet. I guess it takes time to rediscover yourself after baby and our sense of style evolves with our surroundings. Best of luck to you and I look forward to seeing more on your new wardrobe transformation!

    • I know how you feel! It wasn’t easy to get this information out of him. He spent so much time trying to be nice about how I cooked, acted, and dressed and then all of a sudden it started pouring out. Of course, then I was a mess because it all came at once, but now I’m back on track and feeling better than ever. It’s nice knowing that the people you’re around the most appreciate the way you look.

  2. Lucky Brand jeans make a bunch of styles that are great for the derriere and have a stretch material in the denim. Perfect for post-mom-bodies!

  3. comfort and good looks, great combination

  4. Taylor says:

    are you willing to hire him out? I could use some help myself lately.

    • LOL! I considered giving him his own blog about fashion advice, but he is way too mean. He’ll give his two cents to anyone who asks… You’ve been warned 😉

      On Tue, Mar 12, 2013 at 8:40 PM, Eco Blog – Mom Blog Philadelphia |

Leave a Reply

