Singing Praises for My Mother-in-Law

Happy birthday Cathy! Have I told you recently how wonderful you are? In full disclosure, this post is inspired by Scary Mommy’s Mother-in-law Prenup, but you deserve to hear it because you did a great job raising Zac. Also, you have fabulous hair that it appears Hannah is lucky to have inherited. Sadly, Audrey is going balder by the minute, but I could easily acknowledge that her vibrant smile complements yours and Zac’s.

As for the rule of making your son call you, I can’t take much credit for that and I wouldn’t want to since he tends to call you at 5 AM. He really is doing an amazing job staying in touch with you guys and we all enjoy the Skype chats that bring the family together on Sunday dinners. It’s no doubt that the TLC and acceptance you showed him throughout his rogue years are now paying off. He looks at you as a compassionate role model. But not for himself, for me.

He wants me to be like you because he loves you and he wants me to know the joy that you have as he honors that aspect of your terrific family. You may not live close by, but you live daily in his heart and his actions. Just the other night, I laid with Hannah for two hours coaxing her to sleep. She wasn’t fighting it, she just took her time to cuddle with her Mama. When I came downstairs, flustered that I wouldn’t be able to get much done that evening, he calmed me immediately by saying, “You’re a great Mom. My Mom used to do that for us.”

MILOne of my favorite things that you did for your family was to chronicle them with thousands of photos. The videos and galleries and albums that Zac shares with me are a window to his amazing childhood. I love that you created traditions through photography, like the yearly picture of Zac with his birthday poster.

There’s a lot on this Mom path that I’m figuring out on my own and it sometimes leaves me guessing what impact it will have on the girls when they grow up. I don’t worry about that any more.  I know that I don’t have to do everything right, and more importantly, the girls don’t either. I can encourage them, love them, and accept the good with the bad every day of their lives just like you did with your boys. Thank you for putting Zac on loan to me so that we can create these adorable grandbabies. I hope that the next one (when that happens) has your eyes.

6 comments on “Singing Praises for My Mother-in-Law

  1. Lauryn says:

    What a beautiful post for your mother-in-law! It is amazing how much we find out about our families and think about them in ways we never did before after having children…Happy Birthday Cathy!

  2. Amanda says:

    Thank you for posting this today. My MIL is driving me crazy lately and I really needed this to stop myself from being annoyed and remind myself of how grateful I am for the good things she does and for raising my amazing husband.

    • ecoincognito says:

      I’m so glad this post went up at a good time for you! Isn’t it nice to feel grateful for what our Mother in Laws did in raising these boys? Even if they make us crazy 😉

      On Tue, Feb 19, 2013 at 1:35 PM, Eco Incognito

  3. Cathy Bezinque says:

    Jeannette
    Thank you for the post. Better than any Hallmark Card. Thank you for not encouraging Zac to call at all hours. Although living on the West coast has helped with timing. You are a great Mom and are doing a wonderful job with the girls. As Mom’s we could always do better but…sometimes breaking a wooden spoon just might happen, or being told on by your sons to their dad because you called them Little Sh*ts well what can you say. I do not think it effected them, the important thing is just to love them no matter what and hope they grow up and are happy. Please remember Mother in laws are not the enemy as in Scary Mommy’s Pre-Nup ( She might have a few good points!!! 🙂
    Love you Cathy

    • ecoincognito says:

      I’m glad you liked the post! You’re absolutely right that all we can hope for is to have kids that grow up happy. At least they’re happy now, so I think we’re all on a good track. Thanks for paving the way.

Leave a Reply

