Babymoon for Postpartum Benefits + Lunabar Giveaway

The popularity of the pre-birth babymoon is rising, but I think that the Babymoon that takes place immediately post-birth is even more important. In order for Moms to heal and bond with baby, the best thing to do is rest. This is even harder when an older sibling is involved, but I look back fondly at the two weeks I spent with Audrey after her birth doing as much resting and relaxation as possible. After that, I was quickly thrust into the fast pace of life as a Mom of two, so I couldn’t have done it unless I had maxed out on rest and allowing my body to heal.

There are quite a few things you can do to prepare for a relaxing babymoon at home. First and foremost, no matter how much preparation you do or don’t do, all you have to do to be a great Mom is love your baby! Feel comforted knowing that any Mother has been through the same things physically and emotionally. We also LOVE teeny weenie babies and will do anything to help you care for yours. Some Moms have trouble ‘dictating’ helpers and find that making a list of simple household chores that anyone who comes over can do is a helpful way to get more time relaxing with baby. For other suggestions on how to handle the post-partum phase, check out this post: https://ecoincognito.wordpress.com/2013/01/12/how-to-handle-physical-postpartum-symptoms/

prepare for new baby postpartumWith all that in mind, these are my top 5 ways to prepare for a new baby:

1. Cook for 4 – anytime you cook something easy to freeze, make extra and save it in reusable storage containers. There are lots of great resources for recipes online, or just stick with your favorite comfort foods. Accept any offers for food and make sure you know how to properly store it so there is no waste. This is also a great reason to join your local MOMS club. Often, the mothers will arrange to bring you food to help ease the strain of a new baby on the family.

2. Install your carseat – The main reason to install your carseat early is in case the baby comes early. It’s a good idea to do this by 35 weeks. An additional benefit is that you can park in the “Families with Small Children” spaces without feeling guilty. Also, my company offered handicap spots to pregnant women, so don’t be afraid to ask. Even though walking is important, I was afraid to navigate the parking lot in extreme weather conditions.

3. Plan to drink A LOT of Water – You’ll need even more than the recommended 8 glasses of water each day. A good rule of thumb is to drink a glass whenever baby nurses. I love the CamelBak Groove because it comes with a filter in the straw so that you can refill it in any tap. This is perfect if you have an en-suite bathroom. Otherwise, consider keeping a gallon jug near your bed so that you don’t have to ask for refills often.

4. Stock Snacks – Nursing consumes huge amounts of calories and you’ll be awake at times that might not fit a normal meal plan. I kept plenty of LunaBars on hand because they were so tasty and fulfilling. Fresh fruit is also a perfect snack.

5. Diapers – Even if you are planning to use cloth diapers, you may want to use disposables for the early days. Unless someone you know and trust is doing your laundry, getting rest is the most important thing to do for the first two weeks. When you are ready to switch, just do it. Your system will quickly become second nature and it is much harder to go back and forth between disposables and cloth diapers than to use only one type.

GIVEAWAY DETAILS

To help one lucky Mama stock her post-partum survival kit, I’ve asked LunaBar to sponsor a giveaway of their healthy snacks. One winner will receive a 15 ct. case of LunaBar’s newest flavor, Peanut Honey Pretzel. To win, simply leave a comment below letting me know a great book to read while pregnant. Also, check out http://www.lunabar.com/products to let us know your favorite flavor in the comment.

CONTEST CLOSED – Congrats Stephanie from Latte and Legos!!

Disclosure: This is not a compensated post. LunaBar is furnishing the giveaway item.

16 comments on “Babymoon for Postpartum Benefits + Lunabar Giveaway

  1. Erin S. says:

    I don’t know about everyone else, but with my first pregnancy I read a book about vaccinations for infants. I’ve never vaccinated mine. Otherwise I have just read lots of things I enjoy to help me remember to sit and rest with my feet up for a bit.

  2. This is all fantastic advice. I had no idea what to expect before I had my baby. I spent all my time learning about birth and nothing about afterward! I had no idea how long it would take to recover. I didn’t put away any freezer meals, but fortunately DH is a great cook. He took awesome care of us, but I will be doing things differently next time so he doesn’t have so much to do. As for drinking water, I found myself drinking about a gallon a day in the first days of breastfeeding.

  3. I don’t have any books to recommend. By I think you should subscribe to the daily emails about the baby’s development form babycenter or everydayfamily! I loved those emails!

  4. I read the What to expect when your expecting with my first, as for the second, I didn’t have nearly enough time to read! I would love to try the coconut/chocolate kind!

  5. I would say read “The Red Tent” but that might make a pregnant woman too emotional 😉 “Your Pregnancy Week by Week” & “What to Expect..” were what I read. Thanks for the entry!

  6. Sarah B says:

    Gentle Healing for Baby and Child by Andrea Candee – not something to read cover to cover, but more dabble in and get an idea how to use gentle means to help baby get better when there’s sickness, and I know it’s not a book — but we watched the DVD of the Happiest Baby on the Block and the guys ideas definitely work! Chocolate Peppermint Stick are my favorite.

  7. Xandra says:

    Great advice Jeannette! One of my favorite books that I read while I was pregnant was Magical Beginnings, Enchanted Lives by Deepak Chopra. Also, everything by Ina May Gaskin was incredibly inspiring and empowering for me.

  8. Kaitlynn says:

    I agree with Xander about the Deepak Chopra book & anything by Ina May. I also read Henci Goer’s The Thinking Woman’s Guide to a Better Birth with my first. Pregnant with my third now & someone gifted me a Sacred Pregnancy book/workbook. It’s nice for learning baby’s development as well as sorting through emotions & keeping track of memories. Thank you for the entry.

  9. For sure the best book I read while pregnant was Ina May’s Guide to Natural Childbirth!

  10. Lori says:

    Pregnancy, Childbirth, and the Newborn – best comprehensive book to read during pregnancy! It boosts your confidence as a woman and mother without making you fear everything the could be wrong!

  11. There was this yoga book I did the exercises out of, but I can’t remember the name of it. Something like “Baby to Belly”. Definitely worth looking up. I always felt great when I did the exercises. (Sorry I can’t remember the name!)

  12. Monica P says:

    Bumpalicious! For the flavor, definitely blueberry.

  13. Brianna says:

    I’m currently pregnant and have been enjoying this book: “My Mother Wears Combat Boots: A Parenting Guide for the Rest of Us”, by Jessica Mills. Definitely a different take on things 😀 Chocolate Raspberry is my favorite Luna flavor!

  14. I’m not sure as for books, but I think novels (for the spirit!) are always great. I love Chocolate Covered Coconut Luna Bars and Peppermint Stick Luna Bars!

  15. Melissa pilgrim says:

    Yummmm the S’more is DELISH!!

    And I read what to expect when expecting I know a lot of moms say not to read it Bc it will freak you out with all the ” this bad thing could happen etc etc” but I loved the illustrations each week of what the baby looks like and what is changing each week.

  16. Chloe Gaffney says:

    I did read “What to Expect When You’re Expecting” and it covered a lot of questions I had, but also made me very paranoid! “Belly Laughs” by Jenny McCarthy was a great read…she was hilarious and honest! A lot of questions that I didn’t want to ask she answered in her book–and then some!

Leave a Reply

