How to Handle Physical Postpartum Symptoms

As if the stress of having a newborn baby isn’t enough, our bodies go through a myriad of physical changes after birth. This isn’t meant to dissuade any would-be Moms from having a child. However, you should be warned that losing the baby weight will be the least of your worries. If you’re currently going through the post-partum phase with me, my sympathies, friend. Do your pregnant girlfriends a favor and let them know what to expect. These are the most common postpartum woes and the best solutions I can offer for tackling the challenges. Feel free to lament along with me in the comments.

Night Sweats

Shortly after giving birth, you will wake up in the middle of the night wondering if you peed the bed. You will sweat THAT MUCH. Luckily, these “night sweats” generally go away after a week or two. They are your body’s way of rinsing out the hormones that helped grow that little bundle of joy and caused tremendous annoyance of all your husband’s habits. A handy extra set of PJs and a waterproof mattress cover are not cures, but they will offer a little peace of mind and comfort if the baby that woke you allows you to get back to sleep.

Stretch Marks

Sadly, stretch marks are another unfortunate maternity side-effect without a cure. I managed to escape my first pregnancy unscathed because my baby arrived five weeks early. The second baby and the additional 15 pounds of weight gain in my third trimester left a deep set of red, fiery marks. I probably would have benefitted from a preventative moisturizer, but I thought I had aced the genetic lottery and couldn’t be affected after my first pregnancy. Now I’m using Mederma and exercise for my treatment plan. I diligently applied Mederma for 6 weeks and saw some noticeable lightening of my battle scars. I fell off the wagon, but the scars are still going down even with infrequent use. *Bonus* : the Mederma website has a coupon for $4 off a bottle.

Hair Loss

Around three months post-birth, your luscious, flowing, pregnancy locks will begin to flatten. To make matters worse, all that beautiful hair ends up everywhere. This is the time to make an appointment with your trusty hair stylist. Better yet, book a date night after your cut so you have a chance to show off the perfectly styled coif.

Boob Stiffness

Breastfeeding or not, you are likely to experience pains of some sort. With support and encouragement, breastfeeding can be one of the most rewarding ways to nourish your baby so seek out a local group or connect with Moms online. Listen to your body’s cues and use cool or hot therapy to get through the rough phases. Cold compresses will take the edge off weaning pains, while a hot shower does wonders to work out the kinks for a nursing Mom.

Back Pain

No matter how small your little peanut clocks in, the shift of weight from your belly to your arms can result in serious strain on your back. You can do strength training exercises (low weight/high rep) in advance to help prepare your body. The best post-baby remedy is a massage. You deserve it! Also, if you are babywearing and experiencing back pain, check the manufacturer’s instructions to ensure you’re loading your baby correctly.

So, now you know the worst of what to expect when you’re done expecting. Every minute you spend with your little one will make up for the tremendous strain our bodies endure. Motherhood is worth all the woes, except the stretch marks. I’m a little bitter about those, Audrey.

10 comments on “How to Handle Physical Postpartum Symptoms

  1. Amanda says:

    I think the worst for me (and for my mom – it’s the one thing she warned me about) is the weird wrinkly post baby bulge. The one that makes you look like you’re still five months pregnant. I had a cashier ask me when I was due after my second on and I nicely said “Actually she’s five days old” The woman was very embarrassed but I told her not to worry about it. After my first, I would’ve balled but after the second I just laughed. I never used a Belly Band or anything I just dressed in bulkier clothes (I think I may have worn some maternity clothes from pregnancy #1 right through pregnancy #2). Even now (2 years after #2 was born) I have way less “bulge” but the wrinkly thing gets me whenever I look at it. How does that ever go away?? Or does it…

    • ecoincognito says:

      Oh I’ve got that, too. My neighbor warned yesterday that it doesn’t go away. I’m hoping that drinking lots of water, eating nutrient-rich foods, and exercising helps over time. It can’t hurt- right?

  2. Karin says:

    What about the never-ending bleeding?? :-p

    • ecoincognito says:

      Shhh, we can’t scare everyone off from childbirth! But I will say it passed quicker with the second from not laying down during delivery and then laying down as much as possible post-delivery. Ahhh babymoon.

      • Amanda says:

        With my second the bleeding subsided faster too. I can’t say I stay laying down as much as possible after her, but I didn’t deliver on my back either. The second also has worse uterine cramping which no one warns you about. I almost passed out once within a day after my second was born because the pain was so bad – way worse than childbirth itself!!

  3. You have NAILED them! I will never forget how shocking the night sweats really were! It was insane! Stopping by from the SITS Sharefest on Twitter.

  4. […] There are quite a few things you can do to prepare for a relaxing babymoon at home. First and foremost, no matter how much preparation you do or don’t do, all you have to do to be a great Mom is love your baby! Feel comforted knowing that any Mother has been through the same things physically and emotionally. We also LOVE teeny weenie babies and will do anything to help you care for yours. Some Moms have trouble ‘dictating’ helpers and find that making a list of simple household chores that anyone who comes over can do is a helpful way to get more time relaxing with baby. For other suggestions on how to handle the post-partum phase, check out this post: https://ecoincognito.wordpress.com/2013/01/12/how-to-handle-physical-postpartum-symptoms/ […]

  5. hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this site, as I experienced to reload the site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out for a lot more of your respective intriguing content. Ensure that you update this again soon.

  6. At this time it looks like Expression Engine is the top blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  7. I’m curious to find out what blog platform you happen to be working with? I’m experiencing some small
    security issues with my latest website and I would
    like to find something more secure. Do you have
    any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

