Happy New Year!

Greetings Friends! I hope you had an eventful Christmas, restful break, and exciting New Year celebration. Recently, I gave my suggestions for the best resolutions for 2013, but now I’m ready to tell you my personal resolution.

I am going to eat great food.

eat great food

There are a lot of ways that I’m going to make this plan a reality. First of all, I’m planning to put food in the spotlight on this blog. This family is going to grow it, cook it, and eat with a greater passion for food than ever before. I’m finally ready to give my relationship with food the attention it deserves and allow it to be a part of my health. However, I’m also on a budget and I have four mouths to feed, so I’m going to have to be creative and efficient in the kitchen. I’m excited about pursuing this goal because it is the best way that I can have a positive impact on my family right now.

Why should you care what I eat?

If you live in the tri-state area and want to set limits on the time and money you’re spending on food, I can help. I’m setting an intention to eat real food that makes sense right here. I’ll be shopping for food that’s grown locally and in season in an effort to have a better impact on my personal food community. This year, I’m committing to finding a balance in the kitchen that suits an active and frugal lifestyle.

I’ve learned a lot about food in the past four years thanks to a variety of trusty sources and I’m constantly seeking to learn more. I grew up on a steady diet of pb&j and eggs that left a lot to be desired for energy and physical strength. When I finally joined the dinner table and began consuming wholesome food, I noticed a myriad of changes. Most notably, my mood improved and I started achieving my goals.

But, I’m also realistic about what’s for dinner. I’ve got a critical husband who would eagerly accept a diet of milk, pizza, and M&Ms. No matter how much I am affected by cautionary tales about GMOs, hormones, non-organic foods, and meat horror stories, I have to respect that I can’t reinvent the wheel overnight. However, we’ve both come to the goal that we would like to have at least one meal each year that we fully procure. With that as our guide, it’s easier to navigate the aisles of the supermarket to fill in the blanks.

My toddler, thankfully, has a terrific appetite. She also needs a lot of attention at this age and has no patience to wait for food. Watching how and what she actively consumes is a great guide for me. Do you want to know what meal she likes best? Chicken, potatoes, and carrots. It is quickly becoming the most frequently served meal on my table. When I make extra portions and freeze them, it’s my own simple version of fast food. Since she wants this healthy meal, I’m going to do everything that I can to make it available for her.

Why should you care what YOU eat?

The food landscape has changed tremendously in the last decade. There are more unhealthy options than ever before and food marketing makes the challenge of deciphering the traits of good food nearly impossible. I can’t help but feel that our nation is at a crossroads that will determine if we end up in a slow, zoftig march towards the milk-shake future predicted in Wall-E, or can we grow into a healthy and inspiring group of smart eaters? The only thing that is certain is that you must speak up if you care about the future of our food.

A green mindset throughout the house can save a lot of green.

In our kitchen, we seek to use every bit of food that we can since the most expensive ingredient is the one that’s wasted. We just started composting to cut back on our trash, too. Having a second refrigerator allows ample space for less frequent trips to the store and freezing bulk purchases. By making these significant changes, we can divert more of our food budget to the actual purchase of food.

By shifting my main goal from saving as much money as possible to spending as effectively as possible, we are finally balancing our wants and needs. From my table to yours, I hope you have a year of satisfying meals ahead.

4 comments on “Happy New Year!

  1. thebusybaby says:

    We are planning to try out our first small garden this year. I’m looking forward to getting some ideas from you. I have a feeling I’m going to need the help!

    • ecoincognito says:

      That’s great! So happy to have another gardener in the area. Hopefully we’ll have a little variety so that we can swap. Happy growing! p.s. Have you started your compost?

      On Wed, Jan 2, 2013 at 7:34 AM, Eco Incognito

  2. Hayley says:

    This is a great resolution! We live in an apartment and have a tiny raised bed in a partially sunny location where we grow herbs. Last year, we began “share cropping” with my husband’s grandparents who have a large space. It is so rewarding to grow your own food. I’m going to do my best to rotate plants with the seasons and keep it going year-round. I look forward to reading about your adventures!

  3. Nicole says:

    These are great goals! I have a husband who would also gladly keep doing what he’s been doing and it drives me nuts. He knows what’s healthy, but he seems to not be able to bring himself to really care.
    These are great resolutions you have, though. I wish you the best!

Leave a Reply

