How to Write the Perfect Thank You Note

In this digital age, a hand-written thank you note can make a bigger impact than ever. A thank you note is always welcome and should be one of the first things that you think of doing after receiving a gift. You can even send a thank you to a host of an event! The most thoughtful notes will start with a salutation and greeting. They should then list the gift and how you intend to use it. Finally, you can close with an intention to see the gifter again.

Tradition dictates that a thank you should go out within 24 hours of receiving a gift, but there are extensions for special circumstances like weddings or births. Any child that can make a legible mark should be encouraged to assist with writing the note or including a picture. For eco friendly options, you can choose a card printed on recycled paper, cut a calendar, or cut a favorite greeting card into a postcard to reuse.

thank you note

Example:

Dear Someone Special,

I hope you had a wonderful Holiday season! I was thrilled to receive your generous gift of ($). It was so thoughtful of you to think of our family at Christmastime. I’m planning to use the money to purchase a beautiful set of drapes that I’ve been eager to use as a decoration in my home. I also loved the delightful, handmade ornament that you sent for our tree. We hope to see you soon in the new year.

With love, (Fondly, Best, All our love,)

Happy Recipient

This entry was posted in How to.

10 comments on “How to Write the Perfect Thank You Note

  1. Amanda says:

    Here’s my question: If you opened the gift in front of the gifter and thanked them in person then, is it necessary to also send a thank you note? Same with hosts. When my boss invites us to his house for dinner, our family is usually the last to leave (even if you try to leave first, it’s much more difficult to get two kids out the door than the couples without children) and we always end up giving an extended thank you for the evening – in person. Do I need to follow up with a card too?

    • ecoincognito says:

      It’s never wrong to send a thank you! Think of the gift and the effort it took the provider as a guide. If they gave you a simple bauble, an in-person thank you is probably sufficient, but if they crocheted a blanket or went above and beyond as a host, I’d follow up with a quick note. Always send a thank you for cash so that they will know how you spent it, or intended to spend it. They’d much rather hear that it furnished a special family outing than a phone bill, but you can use the money how you chose.

      On Fri, Dec 21, 2012 at 1:14 PM, Eco Incognito

  2. Love REAL written thank yous! I always try to include a picture for folks to see my kids playing with the toy or the deco set up in my house.

  3. That’s a great letter! Well written. We like sending through USPS pictures of the boys with toys they chose to people from far away who sent gift cards 🙂

  4. ecoincognito says:

    Sounds like it’s popular to include photos with thank yous. This is a great way to personalize a note via email.

  5. Amazing! Its truly amazing piece of writing, I have got much clear idea regarding from this paragraph.

  6. continuously i used to read smaller content which as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am reading now.

  7. Hi, its nice piece of writing about media print, we all know media is a wonderful source of facts.

  8. gain weight says:

    Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so
    I came to give it a look. I’m definitely loving the information.
    I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Terrific blog and great design and style.

  9. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

