Why I Believe in Santa Claus

When the Powerball jackpot soared recently, the hot topic was what people would do with all that money. My immediate thought was to open a toy factory. It would specialize in wooden toys to foster creativity and imagination in children. Of course, I would want every child in the world to have at least one of these toys and since I would have so much money, I would give them away! Sound familiar? The only difference is that my red suit would be an Herve Leger bandage dress.

For our family, Christmas isn’t a religious Holiday. It is a celebration of family and the joys of parties, music, and decor. Santa is iconic for us because the legend is truly a beautiful story. As a child, it wasn’t easy for me to believe in Santa Claus because we traveled to Florida every year and stayed at my Grandmother’s chimney-less home. Through the years, mixed messages and financial hardship in my youth hardened my soul against the Holiday. Some people advocated that Jesus was the reason for the season and that religion should prevail above all other parts. Others lavished luxurious gifts on their children and fostered jealousy and materialism. Many people didn’t celebrate Christmas at all, which caused confusion for seasonal salutations.

As a teen, I was trained not to wish others “Merry Christmas” at work and had few opportunities to explore the wonderful aspects of giving. It’s no wonder that I found myself becoming grinchier and grinchier each year. My poor husband was in shock the first time I poo-pooed some of his Holiday spirit. But, just like Max (the Grinch’s dog), he plugged right along trying to foster yuletide joy in my life until my heart finally expanded three sizes at Hannah’s first Christmas.

I finally get it!! The tradition of Santa Claus isn’t about getting toys. It’s about one person giving to everyone. One of the first lessons we teach our children is a simple game of sharing. Ask a one year old to give you a toy and they will enjoy the exchange so much that they’ll repeat the task over and over. The joy that we get from giving is ingrained in our nature. The reason Santa gives to children is not to bring a toy to a deserving child, but rather to teach the act of giving. If every child grew up determined to become Santa Claus, imagine how spirits would soar.

The people in my life who have generously donated time, money, and gifts to others are the happiest people I know. They are my inspiration to share joy with others and the examples for how to raise my children. I would love to be Santa. The excitement that I get from my small contributions to children could easily fuel a lifetime of happiness through giving.

This year, I am only Santa Claus for two very young girls, but I am determined to one day bring hope to as many members of their generation as I can reach. I believe in Santa Claus and the magic of Christmas because I see the joy of the season through a child’s eyes. What else, but magic, could transform our world into such a beautiful wonderland?

Tall Christmas Tree

10 comments on “Why I Believe in Santa Claus

  1. thebusybaby says:

    This is beautifully written. With this type of attitude about giving, your girls will love to give gifts as they get older too!

  2. I love this! It is so much fun to see the joy through the eyes of a child, isn’t it? My hubby was much like you – he had terrible Christmas memories from his childhood, so I had to keep plugging away with my annoying (to him) Christmas spirit, and he finally got it! Luckily before our daughter was born so he wouldn’t Grinch it all up. 😉

    Dear Santa,

  3. Meredith says:

    Giving gifts to kids is such a cool thing! The look on their faces can’t be beat! Happy Santa-Clausing this year 🙂

  4. Beautifully written. My husband used to be very grinchy too, until the boys came. He still has his moments but he’s definitely coming around seeing the excitement in our son’s eyes.

  5. mrsrkfj says:

    I like the way your family approaches Christmas. I hope you can continue to pass this thought along!

  6. Uneeka Jay says:

    Giving is such an important part of Christmas. Beautifully written.

  7. […] may already know that we are eagerly anticipating Christmas in my home if you read the post Why I Believe in Santa Claus. When my friend Jo-Lynne from Musings of a Housewife suggested an Ornament Show & Tell, I […]

Leave a Reply

