The Trash Man

mr eco logo

A Message from Mr. Eco Incognito…

For some reason, my bone-headed wife thinks that because she told me several years ago how much she hates the trash that she is exempt from this chore for life. I think that’s total horse sh*t, but luckily her green nonsense has backfired and bit her in the ass. Recycling, reusing, and rewashing are keeping me from rewalking to the trash can and I’m all for that.

The first thing on her eco-agenda was cloth diapering, which was totally cool from the start. Easy enough to wash out the diapers and throw them back on the kids. Major plusses include not buying diapers and not having permeating poop fumes from the trashcan. Things got a little dicey when she took away my paper towels. At first, I was not on board, but I gave in to make her happy. We gave it our best shot and did manage to cut back a lot. They are still a necessary evil for bacon grease, though.

Next up came the reusing of every piece of trash imaginable. Am I really supposed to believe that she’s going to make a craft out of an oatmeal container? Come on, Pinterest, give me a break. I have to sneak quite a few things out to the recycling bin behind her back to keep the house from becoming her eco-hoarding haven. Again, I’m still happy I don’t have to haul the overflowing trash out on a daily basis.

Did I mention the craziest part? She finally realized that taking out just a little trash is really not all that bad. Looks like someone may have finally grown into her big girl panties. Our friends suggested the next step on the eco-agenda should be experimenting with reusable trash bags and composting. Not sure I’m ready to take the plunge on that one because we have a small yard. Any advice on how to make that work?

7 comments on “The Trash Man

  1. Heather says:

    I don’t know what it is about men and paper towels….My husband is obsessed with paper towels too!

    • ecoincognito says:

      They think their messes are more manly than ours! I didn’t buy any paper towels for a month last spring. We lost a few rags in the process to severe messes, but it was worth it to get the message across that towels work better than paper for most messes.

  2. Ellen says:

    Composting isn’t a smell problem if you mix browns (sticks and leaves) in with the greens ( fruit and veg scraps).

  3. Wow, men and taking care of the trash is always so dramatic. You better tell your hubby he better not refer to you in terms like “bone-headed” around here!! :O

Leave a Reply

