First Race in the Books

On Thursday I ran my first race. That’s right folks, I ran the whole way! The Chester County Turkey Trot started at my Alma Mater, Downingtown High School, and looped the flat streets of our small suburban town. Surprisingly, even though nearly 1700 people participated in the race, it didn’t seem that crowded.

Downingtown Stadium

I showed up e.a.r.l.y and committed my first snafoo by throwing my race chip into the trash. Luckily I was able to retrieve it without incident so that I could fasten the clip to my shoe for a record of my results. Now, I understand it’s my first time racing, but how many people stop to tie their shoes during those things? I really don’t think I could have kept up the whole way if I had stopped, so I’m thankful that my family showed up to cheer me on. I saw them at the 1 and 2 mile marks, and they gave me the encouragement I needed to keep plugging through. After all that, I came in 1205th place! Who even knew they timed us that far out? At just under an 11 minute mile, I’m not fast, but now I’ve got a time to beat for next year. Plus, the winners in the age 1-8 category were close to that time so I have 8 years to speed up if I want to hold hands with my girls at the finish line.

Turkey trot results

Click here for official race results

Completing this race truly meant a lot to my family and me. I’ve been eager to work on this challenge because I don’t want to be left in the dust while my husband has all the fun with the girls. It is very important to me to be a role model for my girls and to be active with them. I also wanted to run a race because I have been inspired by all the people that are blogging, tweeting, and facebooking about their races. A few months ago, I started networking with a group of women bloggers that frequently posted pictures and stats from their races. Imagine how excited I was to get to start out my first race with Whitney and Jo-Lynne!

Chester County Turkey Trot Racers

Whitney, Jeannette, and Jo-Lynne of Philly Social Media Moms

As I crossed the finish line and walked across the endzone, I felt the same rush and excitement as I did standing there 10 years ago prior to the kickoff of my first football game as a cheerleader. I can’t wait to see what the next 10 years will bring. If I keep setting goals and pursing them with a fervor, the way I always have, then I know it will be something to celebrate!

DDog and Fan

Couldn’t miss a photo-op with D-Dog!

Leave a Reply

