The Power of Small Blogs

“If you build it, they will come.”  -Field of Dreams

Small blogs can deliver a big message and they play an important role in the blogging community. We are the audience that keeps content fresh and relevant. Even top brands are realizing the importance of focusing on their best 20 or 40 consumers because they are the people that make things happen. In a small blogger’s community, there are countless opportunities to connect with and influence these concentrated groups.

To me, blogs with thousands of followers are a dime a dozen. I have a few favorites, but I’m just as likely to visit a site and never return if I’m not engaged. I may be one of the only bloggers that doesn’t have a feed of blogs. Instead, I connect with relevant bloggers via Twitter and visit the posts that interest me each day. My tastes change and I’m eager to learn about new topics all the time so it works perfectly. Since I use social media to communicate, I give my time to people that I know personally and those that keep the conversation fluid. I also practice what I preach.

A few months ago, I made a Social Media Resolution to always reply and it has changed my entire internet experience. When people comment on my blog or tweet with me, I reply no matter what. Almost immediately, more people began to listen and pass along my message. I love communicating with a local network because the conversation is part of my life. Plus, Philadelphia has a wealth of creative and insightful bloggers that inspire me. It’s easy for me to market a product or offer advice because I know my target reader. The blog is a way for me to start the conversation, but it continues on Facebook, in person, and vice versa.

I make nearly every purchasing decision online and am an easy target for marketers. I’m not unique in this respect, so it blows my mind that big brands leave this territory uncharted. At a twitter party, every single participant should be acknowledged. If there are too many tweeters, there should be more hosts. (And if you’re a brand that needs another host- you can hire me!) The other things that I see all too often are posts with questions and no follow up. That’s the sales equivalent to picking up the phone, saying “how are you?” and hanging up. I think it’s time for big brands to show some manners on Twitter.

Leave no @branded tweet #unanswered!

If customers consistently walk into a store and can’t find a clerk, they will stop shopping there unless it is cheap or exclusive. It’s the same way on the internet. People are walking away from those blogs that only spout content in favor of the ones that build an interactive experience. However, there are some people who are doing things really well and they motivate me.

@ClassyMommy – Mrs. Padilla has it all. She takes amazing trips, gets awesome toys for her kids, and makes mommyhood look divine. She also invited me to her stellar Holiday fete and I can’t wait to meet her!

@PiratesBooty – This tweeter speaks to the kid in me with fun pirate jingles and contests. They sent me snacks, so I’d never make them walk the plank.

@NICKWALSH – Nick was my first and favorite tweeter. He got me hooked on the Facebook newsfeed in college and now he’s on the fast track to social media greatness in Hollywood.

@HollyPavlika – She may have 10,000 followers and tackle projects like saving the world, but Holly also talks with me on Twitter. She’s one of the rare tweeters that asks a question and sticks around to hear the answer, so I make an effort to chime in.

@JeffTincher – Jeff is the host of a local internet marketing group. He knows the value of an on-screen and off-screen connection and actively promotes that for the benefit of others.

Great content will be passed along, no matter how remote the source. Even internet sensations start with only one share, one like, or one retweet. I’m not afraid to tackle a big challenge because I believe that this little blog can go places like your iPhone, or blackberry, or desktop. (Do people even use those anymore?) I’ve got a good message and a good heart and I hope you will share it. If you do, I’ll take the time to get to know you.

4 comments on “The Power of Small Blogs

  1. Meredith says:

    Excellent points in this post! I feel like it’s so easy to get lost in all this social media, but appreciate the genuine connections I’ve made more than anything. I wish I understood Twitter better so I could use it more effectively to share the good stuff–I’m working on it. I’m from the Philly area too, so nice to “meet” you and here’s to the power of the small blog!

    • ecoincognito says:

      I’m really optimistic for small bloggers that are active in social media because there are plenty of readers out there and the internet is always evolving. Everything is mobile, so you don’t have to have the most beautiful blog, you just need great content. We’re lucky to be blogging and learning from women who are smart marketers, but everybody’s kids grow up and make room for new bloggers to emerge to fill the segment. Thanks for reading and good luck to you!!

  2. {Melinda} So agree! I’ve always said that I want the people who follow my blog to be those who are genuinely engaged with our content and want more. Not just bloggers who joined because it was a requirement to enter a giveaway, etc. Those may increase your numbers, but not your level of engagement. I wish I could get more into Twitter, but I just don’t like it very much! I enjoy Facebook much more so tend to concentrate more on my Facebook page.

    Visiting from Saturday Sharefest!

    • ecoincognito says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post! I snuck over to your blog and I really liked the post about Christmas. It’s got a “pay-it-forward” tone to it that I think is great to promote within the community. Hope to hear from you again!

Leave a Reply

