The Joy of Babywearing

This week is International Babywearing Week, and I’ve been supporting the cause by swapping my two girls in and out of an assortment of carriers. In fact, Audrey is napping soundly against my chest as I type. Since I spend a good portion of my day chasing after Hannah, I honestly don’t know what I would do without a carrier. This habit that started as a matter of necessity is one I’ve grown to love. Luckily, I rarely hear a complaint from Audrey about it either.

I had intended to wear Hannah when she was an infant, but we never really got into a groove with it. I stubbornly refused to buy a double stroller for the girls and I’m glad I held off since Audrey lives to be carried. Spending all day heart to heart with her has so many benefits. I often find myself wishing that I could strap another carrier on my back for Hannah! She’s a little trooper though, and she’s learning to hold my hand while walking so she’s rarely jealous of Audrey’s special spot. However, I did pass off the wee one to Zac for a while and Hannah delighted herself in the carrier with me while we took a leisurely walk along the water. We talked about animals while she smiled and mimicked their sounds. Then she started to play peek-a-boo with me. If you think it’s hard to pretend not to “know” where your kid has gone while playing that game, try doing it in-arms!

My husband is also an excellent babywearing parent. He prefers the backpack for Hannah, although his favorite way to transport her is on his shoulders. She bats at his head and bobs through the woods with him for hikes. When he does wear Audrey, it generally makes me smile. I’m the only person who gets to see his toned physique contrasted by the delicate sling because he generally bundles her into a sweater outside. He has a way of always making me nervous with his nonchalance for safety features, but somehow the girls come out unscathed.

As with most weeks with these little angels, it’s been delightful. I always laugh when people comment that I, “must have my hands full!” The truth is that I do have my hands full and I love it.

One comment on “The Joy of Babywearing

  1. […] days, I’m more interested in babywearing than what my baby is wearing. I certainly appreciate a cute outfit as much as the next Mommy, […]

Leave a Reply

