I’m Going to be a Runner

Tomorrow is a big day for me. I’m going to start a 5K program and I’m determined to become a runner. This little mathlete with no stamina and even less muscle is going to do it because I already know that I can regardless of my past history with exercise. Even though I’ve never run for more than 3 minutes in a row, this challenge is one I’m committed to for my family. I’ve got my fitness role model, Lindsay Brin, echoing in my head that, “professional athletes feel stronger than ever after childbirth” and visions of running through the woods with my girls to motivate me and I am ready.

There are several reasons that I want to start running, but a major one is vanity and I’m not ashamed to admit that. I’m eager to get back into shape and fit into my favorite jeans. I’m also tired of being tired. I know that working out regularly is a great way to have more energy and I miss that from my days of regular yoga practice. Most importantly, I don’t want to be left in the dust when my family is playing outside. My husband is a true outdoorsman and I love taking hikes and look forward to a day when we can all race up and down the trails.

Call me crazy, but I’m also training for Armageddon preparation. I’m not convinced that I won’t have to run for my life at some point in time. It struck me a few months ago that if I can’t keep up with my husband, all his Armageddon plans are useless. Since he’s got a pretty sweet plan for post-apocalyptic living on an island, I think it’s worth running for a half hour a day to make sure I can get there, too.

My biggest concern is maintaining breastfeeding Audrey through it all. We’ve got a really great thing going and I don’t want exercise to impact that so I’m going to take it at my own pace. I’ll drink lots of water, rest if I need it, and pay attention to my body’s cues in response to working out. When we get through the first few weeks, I think we’ll be in good shape. If all goes as planned, I’ll be pounding the pavement for my first 5K at the beginning of the holiday season and strolling around with a hot new double jogger that’s on the top of my Christmas wish list.

Wish me luck! Supportive comments or suggestions are much appreciated.

This entry was posted in Running.

Leave a Reply

