A Peaceful Homebirth at 39 Weeks Pregnant

There’s no place like home for a birth. On August 5 we welcomed Audrey into the world at home with the help of a skilled Midwife. It was an amazing, challenging, and peaceful experience that went exactly as planned. Although she won’t remember it, Audrey is truly lucky to be Born at Home.

My contractions began early Saturday afternoon. After a walk they reached a regular and consistent pattern for about two hours so we called my mother to pick up my 1 year old, Hannah. I called my midwife and she suggested I eat and rest, so I did just that. The contractions subsided through the evening and my husband and I both got plenty of sleep.

We woke up in the morning determined to restart labor ;) and headed out for breakfast at a nice little cafe. Mild contractions started again on the ride, but they weren’t unsettling. I startled the waitress by questioning if our food arrived so quickly because my husband told her I was in labor. A few patrons congratulated us and we headed back home to take a short walk. We were beginning to make progress with stronger and faster contractions, but they eased up each time I stopped moving. I continued the delicate balance of trying to facilitate labor while not exerting myself until the early afternoon.

At two, we decided with the Midwives that I would go for a walk, take a nap, and after a meal they would break my water to help speed things along. The energy from my husband’s delicious pancakes was exactly what I needed as my labor immediately became stronger. I eased the pain by managing my breathing and took Tylenol. Relaxing between each contraction helped me conserve energy and the Midwives offered gentle massage and encouragement to help me through the more challenging pain. It was clear that I was making progress, but laying down was hindering Audrey’s passage.

I took a shower with my husband’s support and bore through three strong contractions. Afterwards I returned to bed and rested briefly before choosing an exercise ball for support to keep me more upright. I cried and whined like a baby. Well, not like Audrey because she rarely cries. The midwives encouraged me to use deeper sounds to redirect the energy down through my body. Cue tribal chanting sounds. It worked because the pain reached a plateau and I gathered the last of my strength to perch on a birthing stool. I felt the “ring of fire” and knew all the work was about to pay off. After strong pushes through three contractions Audrey was born into the hands of a midwife. I held her immediately and watched as she delicately opened her eyes for the first time. With newfound energy, I laid on the bed with her on my chest for several minutes. She was so willful as she moved her head and reached higher towards her first meal. I waited impatiently to deliver the placenta, but it finally came out during a contraction and I felt immediate relief as I nursed Audrey. She got cleaned up while I ate steak and mashed potatoes and then relaxed and bonded with her Dad during my shower.

The three of us fell asleep together and had no troubles meeting Audrey’s first needs of rest and milk. I relaxed and excitedly waited for the morning to introduce Audrey to her new best friend, Hannah. We’re all blessed to have Audrey in our home and our hearts, but her true gift in this world is being a sister.

8 comments on “A Peaceful Homebirth at 39 Weeks Pregnant

  1. jessicaperkins says:

    What a beautiful, peaceful welcome into the world! I am delighted to hear your home birth story was such a success…I labored at home in the wee hours of the morning for as long as I could…and it was the best, most tranquil, peaceful part of my labor — our bodies working in tandem with one another. I can imagine that actually welcoming the baby into the world in the –there’s no place like home–nest, was heavenly.  A time you will always remember…thank you for sharing <3

  2. jessicaperkins says:

    What a beautiful, peaceful welcome into the world! I am delighted to hear your home birth story was such a success…I labored at home in the wee hours of the morning for as long as I could…and it was the best, most tranquil, peaceful part of my labor — our bodies working in tandem with one another. I can imagine that actually welcoming the baby into the world in the –there’s no place like home–nest, was heavenly.  A time you will always remember…thank you for sharing <3

  3. Karin says:

    What an amazing story! It really does sound peaceful. I was happy for my epidural, but really disliked the constant monitoring (before getting the epidural) that made it hard to get comfortable and do my thing. You are a brave woman. :)

  4. ecoincognito says:

    Thanks for reading ladies! Couldn’t have asked for a better way to bring Audrey into the world.

  5. [...] Choosing a drug-free birth plan didn’t happen overnight for me, but I’m so glad that I took that route. As with everything else I do, my goal is to make a better future for my girls. I want them to have access to skilled midwives and to feel confident that their bodies are built for birth. If you’re curious why I had a home birth for Audrey, you only need to read her beautiful birth story to understand. There’s No Place Like Home.  [...]

  6. [...] baby under the care of a midwife and chose that for Audrey’s birth. If you read “There’s No Place Like Home,” then you already know it was the best choice I ever [...]

  7. Jeannette, I bookmarked this post so I could report back after our home birth. It was yesterday and went amazing, just as planned, like yours. Thanks for getting your story out there and encouraging women to think about this for themselves.

Leave a Reply

